Thu, 05 Jul 2018 14:22:13 -0400
Time: 9:45 AM - 11:00 PM
Thu, 07 Mar 2019 17:17:18 -0400
Time: 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Mon, 22 Apr 2019 16:42:37 -0400
Time: 3:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Wed, 03 Apr 2019 11:18:38 -0400
Time: 3:30 PM
Tue, 29 May 2018 09:22:22 -0400
Last Refreshed 4/25/2019 5:04:59 PM
Electronic e-News
Electronic e-News
USD 490 eNews

March 29, 2019

USD 490 hires new Executive Director of Fiscal and Support Services

     The USD 490 Board of Education approved the hiring of Kathy Robertson as the new Executive Director of Fiscal and Support Services beginning July 1, 2019.
     Click here to read the full article.

Kathy Robertson

2019 USD 490/Kiwanis Science Fair winners announced

     USD 490 and the El Dorado Kiwanis Club partnered for the annual Science Fair on March 1.
     Click here to read the full article.

Hot under the collar web
"Hot Under the Collar" by Aodhfionn Mora-Bruce
Grand Champion - Physical Science Division

USD 490 student art displayed at Coutts Museum of Art

     Several USD 490 elementary students had artwork chosen for display at the Coutts Museum of Art.
     Click here to read the full article.

PIE Prize Patrol distributes over $7,400 in grant awards

     Using the remaining funds from our Fall 2018 grant cycle, the PIE Allocation Committee selected 14 out of 23 grant requests to fund over $2,800 in Grants to Schools this Spring.
     The PIE Felix Alton Cantrell Jr. Fund Committee awarded $4,660 in grant requests, $1,260 of these awards were funded by the Felix Alton Jr. Trust.
     Click here to read the full article.

Connection Section small    The Connection Section will feature a different opportunity each month for parents and/or community members to connect with our schools.

Adopt-A-Class Mentors

      Adopt-A-Class mentors spend 45 minutes per week in a USD 490 classroom working with students and developing friendships that strengthen the bond between students and our community. Activities might include reading, interacting on the playground, helping with class projects, eating lunch together, or attending a sporting event or concert your students are participating in. Groups are assigned to a Kindergarten classroom and “move up” with them each year as they progress through their school career.
      Teams must include at least three individuals from local businesses, organizations, or groups. Training is provided at the beginning of each school year and volunteers will choose their schedule. Contact Julie Jensen at the District Office for more information or to sign up to become a mentor. She can be reached by email at or by phone at 316-322-4800.


new 490 logo

District Highlights

EMS students receive high ratings at Patriot League Music Festival

     Several seventh and eighth grade band and orchestra students received I ratings at the Patriot League Music Festival on March 6. The orchestras performed at the USD 490 Performing Arts Center and the bands performed at Augusta Middle School.
     Click here to read the full article.

PL orchestra

EHS and EMS partner for PB&J drive

     EHS collected 180 jars of peanut butter and EMS collected 584 jars of jelly that they were able to deliver to the Salvation Army on March 1.
     Click here to read the full article.

PBJ drive

EHS students qualify for state FCCLA competition

     Three EHS students qualified for the state Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) competition.
     Click here to read the full article.

EHS students place at regional Science Olympiad

     Several EHS students placed at the regional Science Olympiad.
     Click here to read the full article.

EHS bowler places tenth at state

     EHS bowler Forrest Parker placed tenth as an individual at the state bowling tournament.
     The team placed ninth. Team members included: Seth Klayson, Tucker Cook, Braxton Taylor, Ian Bullock, Forrest Parker, Tristan Rogers, and Mahlon Hart.

EHS Extend hosts guest speakers

     Several guest speakers visited the EHS Extend Campus to discuss their respective careers with students on March 18.
     Click here to read the full article.

Seth Hackler at Extend
Scott Hackler talked about his business Wells Design.

EMS student's DAR essay advances to state contest

     EMS eighth grade student Abigail Hutchins was the eighth grade winner of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) essay contest. Her essay will advance to the state contest.
     Click here to read the full article.

Visit PeachJar to view the flyers at your child's school!

PeachJar flyers