Thu, 05 Jul 2018 14:26:19 -0500
Wed, 14 Feb 2018 10:05:26 -0500
Thu, 05 Jul 2018 14:22:12 -0500
Wed, 14 Feb 2018 10:06:04 -0500
Time: 5:00 PM
Mon, 04 Jun 2018 13:28:12 -0500
Last Refreshed 12/12/2018 11:19:41 AM
News and Headlines
News and Headlines
Denise Johnson named 2019 District Teacher of the Year
Blackmore Elementary teacher Denise Johnson was named the 2019 District Teacher of the Year during the USD 490 Board of Education meeting on November 14.

After earning her Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education from Emporia State University, Johnson began teaching fifth grade at Lincoln Elementary. She taught there from 1991 until August 2018 when Jefferson and Lincoln merged into the new Blackmore Elementary where she continues to teach fifth grade.

Colleagues describe Johnson as punctual, caring, and extremely dedicated and supportive of both students and staff. Her lessons are well-prepared and engaging, and she builds positive relationships with students which enables her to help them surpass expected skill levels in teaching outcomes.

As the District Teacher of the Year, Johnson will represent USD 490 as the 2019 Kansas Master Teacher nominee and the 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year nominee.

The other 2019 District Teacher of the Year nominees were Holly Bright at Grandview, Jordan Crawford at EHS, Erin Nichols at EMS, Teresa Riedinger at EHS, and Amanda Yager at Blackmore.