December 9, 2019
December 9, 2019

Regular Meeting
U.S.D. #490 Board of Education
December 9, 2019
6:00 p.m.

These minutes may be approved or amended at the January 13, 2020 BOE Meeting.

The Board of Education of USD 490 met in regular session on Monday, December 9, 2019, in the Board of Education Office, 124 West Central, El Dorado, Kansas.

I. Routine

1. The meeting was called to order by Board President Norm Wilks at 6:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Members Present: Norm Wilks, President
Vicki Coash
Monty Hughey
Rob Lane
Heather Nichols
Sharon Waugh

Members Absent: Tom Storrer, Board Vice President

Others Present: Teresa Tosh, Superintendent
Melissa Smith, BOE Clerk
Kathy Robertson, Executive Director of Fiscal & Support Services
Julie Jensen, Executive Director of Curriculum
Doug Jensen, Executive Director of Technology
Haley Remsberg, Board Member-Elect
Barry Sevett, Apple Education
Bruce Lolling, Principal
Scott Vang, Athletic/Activities Director/Assistant Principal
Karla King, Principal
Linda Larson, Teacher
Rod Luehrs, Teacher
Teresa Riedinger, Teacher
Deena Eaton, Library Media Specialist
Jan Pippig, Library Media Specialist
Senator Bruce Givens
State Representative Will Carpenter

3. Approval of the Agenda

Monty Hughey made a motion to approve the agenda and addendum (Additional Personnel Recommendations, Addition of Executive Session). Seconded by Sharon Waugh; the motion carried 6-0. 

4. Approval of the Consent Calendar

Sharon Waugh made a motion to approve the Consent Calendar as stated below. Heather Nichols seconded the motion; the motion carried 6-0.

Minutes, November 11, 2019 Regular meeting
Financial Reports, enclosures A, B, C
Credit Card Report
EMS/EHS Activity Report

5. Comments from the Public

There were no comments from the public. 

6. Recognition

Board Member - Monty Hughey was honored for 8 years of service.

Apple Distinguished Schools - El Dorado High School and El Dorado Middle School were named Apple Distinguished Schools.

7. Updates

Food Service Program
• Chandra Spears
, OPAA! Director of Nutrition Services, provided a semester review of food service happenings, participation numbers, and fun activities promoting healthy eating.

• KASB Convention
Norm Wilks and Rob Lane summarized sessions they attended at the KASB Convention.

• Extra Curricular Activities 
Scott Vang shared fall activity participation information

• Legislative Feedback 
State Representative Will Carpenter and Senator Bruce Givens discussed possible topics for the upcoming legislative session. 

8. Job Descriptions

Updated job descriptions for CNA, School Nurse Aide, and Bus Mechanic were provided for review. 

Rob Lane made a motion to approve the CNA, School Nurse Aide, and Bus Mechanic job descriptions as presented. Seconded by Heather Nichols; the motion carried 6-0.

9. Approve USD 490 Personnel Recommendations 

Rob Lane made a motion to approve the following USD 490 recommendations which include the addendum. Vicki Coash seconded the motion; the motion carried 6-0. 

Additional Duties
Candice Zieman, EMS Evening Custodian;

Brenda Cole, Bus Aide;

Rebecca Boender, Bus Aide;
Brittany Coffel, Sub Nurse;
Lorra Gillis, EMS Assistant Girls Tennis Coach;
Charity Otto, Grandview Kitchen Manager;
Pamela Robison, Bus Aide;

Nicole Kastens, Blackmore Nurse Aide, replacing Brenda Carr;
Carl (Alan) Mantooth, EMS Head Custodian, replacing Kristi Pelkey;
Jacob Wilson, EHS Assistant Wrestling Coach, replacing Ryan Demel;

Pamela Rosen, Blackmore PreK Teacher (end of 19-20 SY);

Substitute Teacher
Larry McNown, Susan Rommelfanger;

Brenda Carr, from Nurse Aide at Blackmore to Secretary at Blackmore, replacing Brenda Wadick;

10. Announcements  

  • December 17 - Staff Meat & Cheese Tray Delivery
  • December 19 - Staff Workday (No School)
  • December 20 - Virtual Professional Development (No School)
  • December 23 through January 2 - Christmas Break (No School)
  • January 3 - Workday (No School)
  • January 6 - Staff Development (No School)

11. Executive Session 

At 7:30 p.m. Board President Norm Wilks moved to recess into an executive session for a period of 15 minutes to discuss an individual employee's performance pursuant to the KOMA non-elected personnel exemption with Board members and the Superintendent present. Vicki Coash seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to general session at 7:45 p.m. with the same people as listed above present.

II. Adjournment

Board President Norm Wilks adjourned the meeting at 7:45 p.m.

Melissa Smith, Clerk of the Board
USD 490
Butler County, KS