• USD 490 Board of Education

    Vicki Coash
    Norm Wilks
    Monty Hughey
    Rob Lane
    Heather Nichols
    Tom Storrer
    Sharon Waugh

April 8, 2019
April 8, 2019
Print this page.Print

Regular Meeting
U.S.D. #490 Board of Education
April 8, 2019
6:00 p.m.

These minutes may be approved or amended at the May 13, 2019 Board of Education meeting.

The U.S.D. #490 Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, April 8, 2019, in the Board of Education Office, 124 W. Central, El Dorado, Kansas.

I. Routine

1. The meeting was called to order by Board President Norm Wilks at 6:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Members Present: Norm Wilks, President
Tom Storrer, Vice President
Vicki Coash
Rob Lane
Heather Nichols
Sharon Waugh

Member Absent: Monty Hughey

Others Present: Sue Givens, Superintendent
Melissa Smith, BOE Clerk
Julie Jensen, Executive Director of Curriculum
Doug Jensen, Executive Director of Technology
Teresa Tosh, Superintendent-Elect
Kellen Adams, Assistant Superintendent
Kathy Robertson, Executive Director of Fiscal/Support Services-Elect
Kevin Monroe, Teacher
Kelly Ankrom, Teacher
Melinda Shaw, Patron
Mahlon Hart, Student
Tera McClure, Patron
Sean Kagle, Student
Trista Martin, Patron
Kristina Haahr, Patron
Isabelle Haahr, Student
Charles Haahr, Patron
Deanna Bonn, Butler County Times Gazette

3. Executive Session

At 6:00 p.m. Board President Norm Wilks moved to recess into an executive session for a period of 15 minutes to discuss negotiations pursuant to the exception for employer-employee negotiations under KOMA with Board members, the Superintendent, and Superintendent-Elect present. Sharon Waugh seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to general session at 6:15 p.m. with the same people as listed above present.

4. Approval of the Agenda

Vicki Coash made a motion to approve the agenda and addendum (7a. Additional Personnel Recommendations). Seconded by Tom Storrer, the motion carried 6-0.

5. Approve Consent Calendar

Sharon Waugh made a motion to approve the Consent Calendar. Seconded by Rob Lane, the motion carried 6-0.

Minutes, March 4, 2019 Regular meeting
Financial Reports, enclosures A, B, C
Credit Card Report
Activity Report
Climate Survey Results
Grandview PTO Equipment Donation
KASB Service Contract Renewals
Food Service Management Renewal Agreement

6. Comments from the Public

There were no comments from the public.

7. Recognition

Patriot League Music Festival I Ratings
7th/8th grade orchestra - Avery Ash, Samantha Beard, Alexandria Dunn, Keylee Faudere, Ashlyn Gomez, Grace Gomez, Dante Hombaker, Sarah Ivy, Sean Kagle, Savannah Lunsford, Malty Jaeden Martin, Ayden Miner, Isabella Moore, Kayleigh Morris, Trista O’Connor, Avery Parsley, Haylee Payton, Ty Peffly, Kaitlin Perry, Shayla Powell, Shon Rakestraw, Connor Ramsey, Cole Rickard, Lilly Rogers, Emma Sharp, Cade Stackley, Tayden Stanfield, Blaine Stewart, Emma Webb, Sophia Wezor;
Cello/bass trio - Kayleigh Morris, Trista O'Connor, and Ashlynn Gomez;
Band Quartet - Jerica George, Reagan Baumgartel, Pheydra Lynes, and Jillian George;
Band Quartet - Michael Riddle, David Mitchell, Pheydra Lynes and Jillian George;
Drew Veatch (snare drum); Michael Riddle (alto saxophone); David Mitchell (alto saxophone)

• State DECA
Nate Walker – 7th Principles for Marketing; Annalise Young and Louie Tipton – 6th in Hospitality and Tourism Team Decision Making; Zeke Kemboi – 10th in Personal Financial Literacy; Cameron Clausing – 10th in Food Marketing; others competing: Jarin Kohler, Chase Veatch, Christian Price, Cody Wittenberg, Luke Walker, Jake Johnson, Garrett Meyers,
Garrett Hanks, Jackson Shell, Katie Fox, Ellie Tharp, Connor Clausing, Kinley Nielsen  Presley Johnson

Isabelle Haahr scored 31; Mahlon Hart scored 30

8. Updates

• Extracurricular Programs Update – Activity/Athletic Director Scott Vang provided highlights
on EHS and EMS sports and activities, detailing participation, results, improvements, and goals.
He discussed the opportunity of joining a reward program for exclusive savings off uniforms as
well as providing funds to the athletic department for equipment purchases.

• Board Position Election Update – Board Clerk Melissa Smith shared that there will be 4 positions open. Deadline to file is June 3 at noon.

• Legislative Update – Board President Norm Wilks provided information on the school finance plan that has been passed. The Kansas Supreme Court will review the plan on addressing adequacy with a decision expected on or before June 30th.

9. Resolution to Sell Real Estate

Negotiations have resulted in a contract offer for the sale of the former Lincoln School property.

Tom Storrer made a motion to approve the resolution to sell the former Lincoln School site to Barakeh Property, LLC for the purchase price of $51,400 as set forth in the purchase agreement and authorize the Superintendent to complete all necessary documents for closing the transaction. Seconded by Vicki Coash, the motion carried 6-0.

10. USD 490 Personnel Recommendations

Heather Nichols made a motion to approve the following USD 490 recommendations, which include the Addendum. Sharon Waugh seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Additional Duties
Matt Callaway, Utility Clerk, Sub Bus Driver (replacing Emma June Davis);
Alisha Cubbage, Sub Custodian;
Deanna Korkki, EMS Course Completion (Summer);

Willis Howe, Bus Aide and Sub Custodian;
Karla Whitfield, Van/Bus Driver;

Derion Gillis, Sub Custodian;
Kori Green, EMS Social Studies Teacher;
Casey Grundy, Grandview 5th Grade Teacher;
Alexa Heim, Skelly 5th Grade Teacher;
Stephanie Osborne, Blackmore Building Aide;
Erin Reedy, Grandview Kindergarten Teacher;
Elizabeth Tanner, EMS 7th Grade ELA Teacher;
Jason Williams, Science Teacher, Boys & Girls Soccer Coach;

Adrian Baker, Skelly Building Aide, replacing Ashley Hill;
Lindsey Clark, Blackmore 1st Grade Teacher, replacing Amanda Yager;
Bryan Diffendal, Bus Aide, replacing Amy Joiner;
Jeremy Henning, EHS Science Teacher, replacing Jason Williams;
Paige Slayton, Blackmore 4th Grade Teacher, replacing Tyler Funk;
Mike Spencer, EHS Assistant Boys Tennis Coach, replacing Buford Pringle;

Shay Keith, Asst. EMS Tennis Coach (position cut due to insufficient numbers);
Brandi Lanning, Sub Custodian;

Jamie Ball, from Grandview 4th Grade Teacher to Grandview 5th Grade Teacher, replacing Casey Grundy;
Clint Campbell, from Bus Aide to Bus Driver;
Tonya Cogan, from Blackmore Kindergarten Teacher to Grandview Kindergarten Teacher, replacing Erin Reedy;
Emma June Davis, from Utility Clerk to Bus Driver;
Megan Eldridge, from Blackmore 1st Grade Teacher to Blackmore 2nd Grade Teacher, replacing Jenna Pletcher;
Tyler Funk, from Blackmore 4th Grade Teacher to Blackmore 2nd Grade Teacher, replacing Chelsea Sampoll;
Leeann Morris, from Blackmore 2nd Grade Teacher to Blackmore 4th Grade Teacher;
Jenna Pletcher, from Blackmore 2nd Grade Teacher to Blackmore Kindergarten Teacher, replacing Tonya Cogan;
Kari Vang, from EMS Assistant Cheer Coach to EMS Head Cheer Coach;
Amanda Yager, from Blackmore 1st Grade Teacher to Blackmore 2nd Grade Teacher, replacing Leeann Morris;

Substitute Teachers
Chelsea Gates, Jamie Junkersfeld

11. Announcements

• April 19 No School
• April 22 No School – Professional Development Day
• April 24 Administrative Professionals Day
• April 29 Fifth Monday Board Meeting – Architect Presentations
• May 5-10 Teacher Appreciation Week

II. Adjournment

Board President Norm Wilks adjourned the meeting at 7:12 p.m.

Melissa Smith, Clerk of the Board
USD 490
Butler County, KS