News and Headlines
News and Headlines
EHS students receive 2018 Jester Awards
EHS students received 2018 Jester Awards from Music Theatre Wichita on May 6.

Mary Michael Gomez received a Jester Award for Leading Actress for her role as Marian Paroo in The Music Man.

The Barbershop Quartet of Chris Florez, Jarrod Jones, David Staats, and David Williams received a Jester Award for Small Ensemble for their performance in The Music Man.

The Jester Awards were established to recognize, stimulate and encourage student achievement, and to focus the attention of the community and school districts on the importance of musical theatre and arts education.

Judges reviewed the scores given to 127 high school musical performances entered for consideration by 40 schools throughout Kansas during the 2017-18 season. Only the top ten in each category were selected as 2018 Jester Nominees. The EHS fall musical production The Music Man had several nominees.

• The Music Man Medley (Ethan Crank, Mary Michael Gomez and company)- Outstanding Design Guest and Outstanding Artistic Guest
• Drama Mamas and Papas- Outstanding Lobby Display
• Eli Wonsetler- Outstanding Lighting Design
• The Music Man cast- Outstanding Ensemble/Chorus and Outstanding Overall Production.
• Tanner Price- Outstanding Pre-High School Performer (Winthrop Paroo)
• Madeline Sammons- Outstanding Technical Achievement (Costume Design)
• Maria Whitmer- Outstanding Supporting Actress (Mrs. Paroo)
• Alex Piazza- Vocal Musical Direction
• Katie Banks-Todd- Artistic Guest (Director)
• Ethan Crank- Outstanding Leading Actor (Harold Hill)