News and Headlines
News and Headlines
EHS Suma Cum Laude grads receive Myrrl Houck Scholarship

Fourteen El Dorado High School seniors, all Summa Cum Laude graduates, were presented Myrrl Houck Memorial Scholarships at a reception on May 9.

The recipients were: Karishma Bhakta, Taylor Brock, Hollie Gregg, Allyssa Jensen, Yasmine Kabutu, Channing Kimble, Lauren Lowrey, Christian McCoy, Madeline Sammons, Sydney Scanlon, Gretchen Shum, Erica Sparks, Katlyn Sparks, and Jake Tole.

Students received awards amounting to $500 each, producing a total of $181,090 in scholarships which have been granted to approximately 599 students since the Houck scholarship program started in 1960.

EHS Counselor Christine Headrick opened with a tribute to the students, noting they had each earned at least a 3.8 GPA in academically-challenging classes including four years of Honors English, Geometry, Advanced Algebra II, Trigonometry/Math Analysis, Science (3 credits that included Chemistry and Physics), and two years of the same foreign language.

On behalf of the Houck Scholarship Committee, Mike Fagg congratulated the students and presented highlights from Houck’s life, explained how the scholarships came about and how they are maintained, and introduced other members of the Myrrl Houck Committee who were in attendance.

Fagg also presented certificates and letters of congratulations/instruction from Partners in Education. (Note: the Houck Scholarship is managed by the PIE Foundation).

This scholarship is named for Myrrl Houck. Houck earned a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas, a Master’s in education from Wichita State University, and a degree in library science from Denver University.

Houck moved to El Dorado and began teaching in El Dorado schools in 1919 and continued teaching in the high school for nearly 40 years.

During her tenure, Houck diligently sought out large scholarships from universities all over the country for El Dorado’s graduates. She also began the tradition of holding class reunions at El Dorado High School.

Houck retired in 1958, was selected as one of seven honor teachers in Kansas, and briefly worked as an assistant librarian in the reference department of Wichita State University. She positively impacted the lives of her students and her legacy continues to provide opportunities for students at El Dorado High School.

2018 Myrrl Houck recipients
Back (L-R): Madeline Sammons, Sydney Scanlon, Gretchen Shum, Erica Sparks, Christian McCoy
Front (L-R):
Karishma Bhakta, Taylor Brock, Hollie Gregg, Allyssa Jensen, Channing Kimble, Lauren Lowrey, Katlyn Sparks
(Not Pictured: Jake Tole and Yasmine Kabutu)