August 8, 2016
August 8, 2016

Minutes of the August 8, 2016 Board of Education Meeting

These minutes may be approved or amended at the September 12, 2016 BOE meeting.

The U.S.D. #490 Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, August 8, 2016, in the Board of Education Office, 124 West Central, El Dorado, Kansas.

I. Routine

1. The meeting was called to order by Board President Vicki Coash at 6:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Members Present: Vicki Coash
Monty Hughey
Bernie Spradling
Scott Starkey
Tom Storrer
Norm Wilks

Others Present: Sue Givens, Superintendent
Melissa Smith, BOE Clerk
Kellen Adams, Executive Director of Fiscal/Support Services
Doug Jensen, Executive Director of Technology
Julie Jensen, Executive Director of Curriculum
Lora Meirowsky, Teacher
Jim Shum, Teacher
Kurt Spivey, SRO
Tyson Nielson, SRO
Camo, Drug/Therapy Dog
Julie Clements, Butler County Times Gazette
Gregg Oblinger, Simpson Construction
David Stewart, Gravity Works Architects
Ryan Carson, Patron
Matthew Guthrie, Patron
Carolyn Dwire, Patron
Lou Clennan, Patron
Emily Connell, Patron
Kira Schafer, Student
Brad Schafer, Teacher

3. Executive Session

At 6:00 p.m. Board President Vicki Coash moved to recess into an executive session for a period of 30 minutes to discuss negotiations in order to protect the public interest in negotiating a fair and equitable contract and to discuss matters of non-elected personnel in order to protect the privacy rights of the individuals to be discussed, with Board members, the Superintendent, and Kellen Adams present. Scott Starkey seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to general session at 6:30 p.m. with the same people as listed above present.

Monty Hughey left the meeting at 6:30 p.m.

4. Approval of the Agenda

Norm Wilks made a motion to approve the agenda. Seconded by Bernie Spradling the motion carried 5-0.

5. Approval of the Consent Agenda

Bernie Spradling made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda as stated below. Vicki Coash seconded the motion; the motion carried 5-0.

Minutes of July 11, 2016 regular meeting
Minutes of July 12, 2016 Special Meeting
Financial Reports, enclosures A, B, C
Credit Card Report
Activity Reports
Credit Card Use and Limits
Benefit Providers
Summer School Reports

Monty Hughey returned to the meeting at 6:32 p.m.

6. Comments from the Public

Ryan Carson addressed the Board to express interest in being considered for the vacant School Board seat.

7. Recognition

• Kansas Bus Safety Poster Contest Winner – Kira Schafer

8. Updates

SRO Therapy/Drug Dog – SRO Tyson Nielsen introduced his new drug/therapy dog, Camo, to the Board. Camo is trained to alert on 4 drugs and will eventually complete training to be a therapy dog as well.

Tom Storrer left the meeting at 6:39 p.m.
Tom Storrer returned to the meeting at 6:41 p.m.

Educational Facilities Authority (BG Stadium) – Lou Clennan and Emily Connell from the Haverhill Beautification Committee provided an update on the Beautification project and presented a proposal requesting $8000 for assistance with funding of an entrance sign to the BG Products Sports Complex. The Board requested additional information. No action was taken.

9. Construction Management At-Risk

The Selection Committee completed the scoring process and recommends Simpson Construction.

Bernie Spradling made a motion to authorize administration to negotiate a contract with Simpson Construction for construction services on the 2016 bond projects. Monty Hughey seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

10. 2016-17 Budget

Kellen Adams presented the proposed budget for 2016-17. The estimated mill levy for 2016-17 is 60.835, an increase of 2.68 mills.

Norm Wilks made a motion to approve the 2016-17 Budget for publication as presented with a public hearing to be held on Tuesday, August 23, 2016 at 7:30 a.m. in the District Office at 124 West Central Avenue. Tom Storrer seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

11. Board Vacancy

A questionnaire will be created and distributed to the candidates who have expressed interest in the board vacancy. No action was taken.

12. Professional Agreement

ENEA verified ratification of the proposed 2016-17 Negotiated Agreement.

Scott Starkey made a motion to approve the 2016-17 Negotiated Agreement as presented. Seconded by Norm Wilks, the motion carried 6-0.

13. Approve USD 490 Recommendations

Bernie Spradling made a motion to approve the following USD 490 recommendations, which includes the addendum. Tom Storrer seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Amy Beard, Food Service Sub;
Connie Condreay, Food Service Sub;
Dorothy Cooper, Food Service Sub;

Shelly Belair, EMS Head Cheer Coach, replacing Haley Remsberg;
Thomas Faudere, EHS Assistant Football Coach, replacing Bill Shaw;
Pamela Haskins, Food Service at El Dorado High School, replacing Barbara Reynolds;
John Heim, 8th Grade Assistant Boys Basketball Coach, replacing Adam Aadelen;
Kacie Johnson, 7th Grade Head Volleyball Coach, replacing Megan Davison;
Peggy King, EHS Dishwasher, replacing Synthia Waldron;
Steven Maus, Robotics Sponsor, replacing Pete Cisneros; EMS Building Aide, replacing Tyson Kohls;
Amber McLaren, Destinations Lab Aide at Jefferson, replacing Mary Korkki;
Mike Melcher, EHS Spring Assistant Athletic Director, replacing Robert Risch;
Charity Otto, Skelly Food Service, replacing Rebecca Boender;
Kirsten Palmer, EHS Evening Custodian, replacing Nancy Firkins;
Erin Reedy, Kindergarten Teacher at Grandview, replacing Melissa Baumgartel;
Renee Skinner, EMS Secretary, replacing Bobbie Pizzo;
Ryan Squires, EHS Assistant Volleyball Coach, replacing Rachel West;
Melissa Wingfield, Head Drama Sponsor, replacing Katie Banks-Todd;

Abbi Markowitz, from Skelly Kindergarten to Skelly First Grade;

Twila Eidson, from Sub Food Service to Lincoln Food Service, replacing Paulette Porter;

Melissa Baumgartel, Kindergarten Teacher at Grandview;
Brian Boggs, EHS Food Service;
Heather Comer, Building Aide at Skelly;
Gregory Franklin, EHS Evening Custodian;
Bobbie Pizzo, EMS Secretary;
Sam Raney, EMS Assistant Soccer Coach;
Barbara Reynolds, EHS Food Service;
Alyssa Riffel, EHS Assistant Volleyball Coach;
Sheila Scheibmeir, Food Service at El Dorado Middle School;
Katie Banks-Todd, Head Drama Sponsor;

Substitute Teachers
Brad Amend, Steve Appleman, Dorothy Boucher, Taylor Briscoe, Cary Bruce, Peter Bryant, Sue Coble, Davina Collette, Stacey Cook, Norma Doornbos, James Dougherty, Mandy Duryea, Steve Fellers, Pamela Goldberg, Mary Good, Paula Hansen, Robyn Higgins, Jim Horner, Rita Johnson, Mary Korkki, Miranda Lanier, Vicki Lawrence, Leon Leachman, Bev Love, Larry McNown, Lila Mercer, Viola Nagel, Bonnie Owen, Jackie Peiffer, Teresa Pendergrass, Margaret Quidachay, Cleveland Reddinger, Jr., Desiree Riffel, Dean Roedel, Marie Rowell, Nancy Samp, Christine Schultze, Vicki Shepherd, Jan Stark, Lionel Tipton, Julie Utech, Aaron Waldorf, Jami Williams

14. Announcements

• August 10 – General Staff Meeting
• August 11 – Site Council Training & Dinner; 5:30 p.m.
• August 17 - First Day of School, Grades K-6 and 9
• August 18 – First Day of School, Grades 7-8 and 10-12
• August 23 – Budget Hearing and Special BOE Meeting; 7:30 a.m.
• August 29 – 5th Monday Board Meeting; 5:30 p.m.
• September 5 – Labor Day, No School

II. Adjournment

Board President Vicki Coash adjourned the meeting at 7:35 p.m.

Melissa Smith, Clerk of the Board
USD 490
Butler County, KS