December 12, 2016
December 12, 2016

Regular Meeting
U.S.D. #490 Board of Education
December 12, 2016
6:00 p.m.

These minutes may be approved or amended at the January 9, 2017 Board of Education meeting.

The U.S.D. #490 Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, December 12, 2016, in the Board of Education Office, 124 W. Central, El Dorado, Kansas.

I. Routine

1. The meeting was called to order by Board President Vicki Coash at 6:00 p.m.

2. Roll Call

Members Present: Ryan Carson
Vicki Coash
Monty Hughey
Bernie Spradling
Tom Storrer
Norm Wilks

Members Absent: Scott Starkey

Others Present: Sue Givens, Superintendent
Melissa Smith, BOE Clerk
Kellen Adams, Executive Director of Fiscal/Support Services
Doug Jensen, Executive Director of Technology
Julie Jensen, Executive Director of Curriculum
Julie Clements, Butler County Times Gazette
David Stewart, Gravity::Works Architecture
Brad Schafer, Teacher
Kira Schafer, Student
Hannah McKee, Student
Mackenzie Kenney, Student
Rachel McKee, Patron
Andrew Holmes, Patron
Scott Rickard, City of El Dorado
Kaitlyn Hutchins, Student
Brian Hutchins, Patron
Lucinda Hutchins, Patron
Abby Hutchins, Student
Lindsay Cooper, Teacher
Rodney Luehrs, Teacher
Laura Luehrs, Patron
Ryan Luehrs, Student
Linda Barker, Teacher
Ashton Gingerich, Student
Jennifer Gingerich, Teacher
Isabelle Haahr, Student

3. Executive Session

At 6:00 p.m. Board President Vicki Coash moved to recess into an executive session for a period of 30 minutes to discuss matters of non-elected personnel in order to protect the privacy rights of the individuals to be discussed, with Board members present. Norm Wilks seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The board returned to general session at 6:30 p.m. with the same people as listed above present.

4. Approval of the Agenda

Ryan Carson made a motion to approve the agenda. Seconded by Norm Wilks, the motion carried 6-0.

5. Approval of the Consent Agenda

Norm Wilks made a motion to approve the Consent Agenda as stated below. Bernie Spradling seconded the motion; the motion carried 6-0.

Minutes, November 14th, 2016 Regular meeting
Financial Reports, enclosures A, B, C
Credit Card Report
EMS/EHS Activity Reports
EMS/EHS Athletic Reports
Early Graduation Request

6. Comments from the Public

There were no comments.

7. Recognition

Pioneer League Scholars Bowl 1st Place Team - Isabelle Haahr, Kira Schafer, Kaitlyn Hutchins, Cooper Crawford, Tammy Nguyen, Hannah McKee, Selah Klayson, Ryan Luehrs, and Ashton Gingerich. Linda Barker is the coach.

National School Bus Safety Week poster contest - Kira Schafer placed third in Division III at the National level.

8. Updates

• Food Service & Wellness Programs – Kellen Adams shared information on free/reduced percentages, revenue and expenditures of the Food Service program, new breakfast offerings, and personnel.

Lindsay Cooper, Middle School Teacher and District Wellness Coordinator, provided an overview of district wellness goals and activities, including 490 for Fitness, Walk at Lunch day, creation of a Student Advisory Team, and the installation of a quarter mile walking path at the middle school made possible from a grant through the Healthy Kansas Schools Foundation and paved by SPS Paving.

• Partners in Education – Ryan Carson shared an update on recent fundraising efforts and
allocations given through teacher grants.

• KASB Convention – Norm Wilks and Ryan Carson summarized the sessions they attended at the KASB Convention, including Conflict Resolution and Kansans Can. Norm Wilks was also a presenter for the Negotiations session.

Monty Hughey left the meeting at 7:05 p.m.

• Construction Projects – David Stewart provided updated schematics for the two new
elementary sites. Sue Givens provided the Board with survey results for naming of the new
facilities which will be an action item at January’s meeting.

• KASB Policy Updates – First Reading
Copies of the proposed KASB policy recommendations were provided for review with
consideration for final approval at the January BOE meeting.

9. Neighborhood Revitalization Plan

Scott Rickard of The City of El Dorado presented the updated NRP. The BOE must approve participation in the tax abatements affecting the district.

Ryan Carson made a motion to approve the resolution to enter into an interlocal
agreement with the Butler County Board of County Commissioners, City Commission of El
Dorado, Unified School District #375, and Butler Community College to adopt a Neighborhood
Revitalization Plan and authorize and direct the President of the USD 490 Board of Education to
execute said agreement. Tom Storrer seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

10. Friend of Education Nominations

The following nominees for Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force Friends of Education awards were presented for consideration:

2016 Kids Campaign Committee and Andy Waller/SPS Paving.

Norm Wilks made a motion to approve the Friends of Education nominees as presented. Vicki Coash seconded the motion. The motion carried 4-1 (Bernie Spradling abstained).

11. Approve USD 490 Recommendations

Bernie Spradling made a motion to approve the following USD 490 recommendations. Norm Wilks seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-0.

Shirley Bauer, EHS Food Service, replacing Sara Bauer;
Ryan Demel, EHS Assistant Golf Coach, replacing Pete Cisneros;
Brooke Frazier, Evening Custodian at EHS, replacing Kirsten Palmer;
Casey Grundy, Building Aide at Grandview, replacing Kristy Bieberly;
Stanley Haring, Assistant Bowling Coach, replacing Pete Cisneros;
Mickey Yaghjian, EMS Assistant Cheer Coach, replacing Jen Kelly;

Cassie Hall, Title Aide at Jefferson;
Lauryn Simpson, Building Aide at Skelly Elementary;

Substitute Teacher
Beverly Davis

Richard Altis, Utility Clerk;
Paula Hephner, Sub Custodian;
Alex Knoblaugh, Sub Custodian;

12. Announcements

• December 20 through January 1 - Christmas Break
• January 2 & 3 – Staff Development (No School)

II. Adjournment

Board President Vicki Coash adjourned the meeting at 7:36 p.m.

Melissa Smith, Clerk of the Board
USD 490
Butler County, KS